2019 Development Awards

Application extension: Apply by Friday, April 12, 2019. Applications are being accepted for the 2019 Development Awards in the categories of Corporate Support, Membership, Philanthropy, and Special Achievement/Innovation. Be sure to nominate a C. Scott Elliott Development Professional of the Year as well as a Development “Rising Star.” 

The purpose of the annual Development Awards is to share fundraising success happening at stations of all sizes and to celebrate those achievements. For this reason, all applications will be made available to the system.

How to Apply:

Step 1. Review the award categories here. You are welcome to apply to multiple categories, however the same application can only be submitted under a single category.

Step 2: Use the online application form to tell us what you did, how you did it, and why it has been effective. You’ll be asked to provide:

  • Project title
  • Overall goal of project, problem it sought to solve or opportunity it sought to leverage
  • Description of the activity, what it achieved and why it was successful
  • Metrics or benchmarks utilized that show success of project (quantitative and qualitative data)
  • How the project leveraged national or local content (primetime, KIDS, pop-out, etc)

** If you prefer to type your responses in a word doc first, plan to submit a total of 1-2 pages typed.

Step 3. Complete the application form by April 12, 2019 to be considered for a 2019 award

Not sure where to start? Take a look at the 2018 award winners

How will winners be recognized?

  • All winners will be announced at the 2019 Public Media Development & Marketing Conference (PMDMC), July 11, on the main stage in front of 1,000+ public media colleagues!
  • Winners will receive a complimentary PMDMC registration ($749 value)
  • All applications and stories of fundraising success will be featured on OurNeighborhood
  • Winners will be announced in a PBS press release 

How are the Development Awards judged?

The Development Advisory Committee (DAC), a group of 14 station leaders representing a variety of disciplines, markets and licensees, will judge the awards. After an initial review of all applications, some applicants may be asked to provide additional information. The DAC reserves the right to award multiple winners in each category or none at all based on the quality and/or quantity of applications.

The DAC will look for successful projects, campaigns or initiatives that delivered a positive impact on revenue or other metrics that led toward revenue generation. These include but are not limited to: revenue growth, prospect leads, donor file growth, digital engagement, community engagement, or implementing creative/innovative techniques. The DAC will award success regardless of station and budget size and whether it comes in the form of new and innovative techniques or from traditional practices. The DAC will look for metrics, benchmarks, comparisons from past years, projections for future years and/or additional data that show why the project was successful.


If you have any questions, email Mikail Faalasli at mhfaalasli@pbs.org or call 703-739-5432